More Good Stuff On Silent Cal: A Primer

In my recent blog about our 30th president, Calvin Coolidge, I mentioned that historian Amity Shlaes had written a very recent biography of “Silent Cal.” Based on her research, she taped a spot on Coolidge for Prager University – a primer of his presidency. It is well worth six minutes of your time, and may just change your conventional wisdom about the role of a president.

Hat tip to my friend “justturnright” for bringing this video to my attention. If you’re not already following him on Twitter do so now (@justturnright), and make sure to check out his Two Heads Are Better Than One blog – always informative and witty.

4 thoughts on “More Good Stuff On Silent Cal: A Primer

  1. You’re very kind with the plug, CTX.

    Just happy to help. Really enjoyed your earlier post about Cal (who is one of my all-time faves as President) and figured you’d enjoy that video.

    Keep up the excellent work over here, my friend!

    • It was the least I could do – I always enjoy reading your take on things political (as well as the spiritual posts by the other “head” 🙂 ). Definitely appreciated the heads up on the video, as well as your kind words!

  2. Great video. I recommend Calvin Coolidge’s autobiography if you can get your hands on a copy. Been wanting to read that new biography by Shlaes.
    -Ben

    • Thanks for the recommendation. I’ve just recently become more interested in Coolidge and actually just ordered the Shlaes biography the other day. I will probably post some thoughts on it once I’ve finished it.

What do you think?

